March 25, 2021

Lisa Mallon elected Vice Chair of Global Wind Organisation

GE Renewable Energy HSE leader takes position on GWO Executive Committee  

GWO members have elected a new Vice Chair of the Executive Committee (ExCo), choosing GE Renewable Energy's Lisa Mallon for the role.

Lisa's election was confirmed following a unanimous vote of GWO's Annual General Meeting on 24th March, and she now joins existing ExCo Vice Chair Jill Lees of RWE Renewables and ExCo Chair Paul Robbins of Vestas as Global Wind Organisation's elected representatives.

Lisa Mallon - EHS Executive, GE Renewable Energy, elected Vice Chair of Global Wind Organisation Executive Committee 2021-2023

Global Wind Organisation currently has a single membership category - Leading Members - who formally approve the organisation's structure, finances and workplan at the AGM, based on a one-member-one-vote structure. Lisa's election is confirmed alongside a re-constituted ExCo comprising chairs and vice chairs nominated by members of GWO's standing Committees.

There have been several changes to the leadership in both standing and regional committees.

Thor Inge Throndsen of Equinor has been confirmed as Vice Chair of the Training Committee. Thor has represented Equinor on the Training Committee for two years and he replaces Neil Pickthall of SSE who recently stepped down.

On the Audit & Compliance Committee, Jesper Bagge Hansen of Ørsted has been confirmed as Chair, following two years as Vice Chair. Jesper is joined by Jan Østergaard Laugesen of Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy, who has been confirmed as Vice Chair of the A&C Committee.

Kristy Abel, Director EHS and Training at Avangrid Renewables has been confirmed as Vice Chair of the North America Committee. Kristy joins Wes Witt of Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy who has been confirmed as chair until 2022.

The GWO China Committee continues to be led by Mr Qin Hayan, Secretary General of China Wind Energy Association and Director of China General Certification.

GWO Executive Committee 2021-2022

Elected representatives
  • Paul Robbins - Vestas - ExCo Chair
  • Jill Lees - RWE Renewables - ExCo Vice Chair
  • Lisa Mallon - GE Renewables - ExCo Vice Chair
Standing committee chairs
  • Jesper Bagge Hansen - Ørsted - Audit & Compliance Committee Chair
  • Jan Østergaard Laugesen - Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy - Audit & Compliance Committee Vice Chair
  • John Barrie - Vestas - Training Committee Chair
  • Thor Inge Throndsen - Equinor - Training Committee Vice Chair
  • Wes Witt - Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy - North America Committee Chair
  • Kristy Abel - Avangrid Renewables - North America Committee Vice Chair
  • Qin Hayan - China General Certification/CWEA - China Committee Chair
Paul Robbins, said: "Lisa will make an excellent addition to the ExCo leadership. She has been chair of the Audit & Compliance Committee since 2019 and many of you will know her already from her work outside GWO. Lisa is an experienced and highly regarded H&S professional in our industry and I am confident that we have established an ExCo and team that will achieve our strategic goals and look forward to working with our team for the coming year."
Lisa Mallon added: "I would like to thank my fellow GWO members for electing me Vice Chair of the GWO Executive Committee. We are at an exciting moment in the history of Global Wind Organisation, with a clear strategy to grow a worldwide network of quality assured, standardised safety and technical training centres. I look forward to playing my part in helping achieve this and encourage our industry to get behind the mission of GWO, to create an injury free working environment in wind."
“It has been a pleasure to work alongside Lisa for the past two years as she led the GWO Audit & Compliance Committee,” said Jill Lees, Vice Chair of GWO Executive Committee. “We are fortunate to have someone with Lisa’s skills taking up this role alongside Paul and myself and we look forward to a long and successful partnership.”