About GWO


Executive committee

No items found.

Paul Robbins

Chair, Global Wind Organisation
Chief H&S Specialist Vestas Wind Systems
Paul was elected chair of GWO in 2020 and has been involved with the association since 2014. Paul supports the GWO membership as it aligns training and safety requirements in the global wind power sector.

Lisa C Mallon CMIOSH

Vice Chair, GWO Executive Committee
Global Executive Leader at GE Renewable Energy Onshore Wind
Lisa Mallon has 20 years’ EHS experience having held various advocacy roles within the UK. She joined GE Renewable Energy in 2009 and is currently leading EHS in its Wind Projects and Service business.

Jesper Hansen

Chair of GWO Audit & Compliance Committee
QHSE Leader and Incident Investigator, Ørsted
Jesper is a specialist in incident management and compliance in the wind industry. Before joining the sector, Jesper worked with the Danish Safety Technology Authority as a specialist, with focus on compliance and auditing against EU standards and directives.

Jill Lees

Vice Chair, GWO Executive Committee
Director, Health, Safety and Environment at RWE Renewables GmbH
Jill has over 30 years’ energy sector experience, leading transformational engineering projects globally. A chemistry graduate, she also has a PhD in material science and believes passionately in encouraging women to progress in engineering and technology.

John Barrie

Chair of the GWO Training Committee
Global Head of Training, Vestas Wind Systems A/S
John has worked in senior training roles within the renewable energy and industrial sectors for a number of years. At GWO he helps co-ordinate the development of new standards alongside the secretariat.

Thor Inge Throndsen

Vice Chair, GWO Training Committee
HSE Manager for North Sea Offshore Wind Operations, Equinor.
Thor has more than 30 years' experience in different HSE roles in the energy industry. He joined Equinor (Statoil) in 1996 and started in offshore wind in 2018. He worked for the Norweigian Petroleum Safety Authorities from 1990-96.

Jan Oestergaard Laugesen

Vice Chair, GWO Audit & Compliance Committee
HSE Senior Specialist, Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy.
Jan has worked with Siemens Gamesa since 2009 and is an experienced EHS Specialist with a demonstrated history of working in the electrical and electronic manufacturing industry.

Kristy Abel

Chair, GWO North America Committee
Director, Environmental, Health and Safety, Avangrid Renewables
Kristy is a skilled health and safety and technical training leader with expertise in strategic planning change management and project administration. Kristy also brings a combination of experiences gained in the renewable energy and electric utility industries.

Qin Haiyan

Chair, GWO China Committee
General Secretary, China Wind Energy Association, vice-chairman of IECRE, Vice Chairman of WWEA and Director of China General Certification
Qin has over 25 years experience in the field of renewable energy certification, testing and inspection, and has been engaged in wind, solar and other renewable energy policies development and technology research.